top of page
Search

Makeup and Tattoo Removal?

Updated: Oct 22, 2020

Makeup and Tattoo removal?

Let me prefix this blog by telling you that I am an 33 year old male who has never worn makeup before….until now.


We all have our own unique reasons for choosing to have laser tattoo removal done. For most of us we want the tattoo to be totally removed as soon as possible.  Unfortunately, the reality is that it will take multiple sessions and several months for the tattoo to fade away to the point where it is no longer visible.


I know this might not be groundbreaking news to most, but the proper application of makeup to your tattoo can make it “disappear”.


I tried to cover up my tattoos with makeup before my first laser removal session.  Unfortunately, this was not a success. I have fair skin and dark tattoos. The tattoos showed up right through the foundation.  I was able to cover them almost completely using a dark concealer. This to me was just counterintuitive. It looked like someone painted over selective parts of my skin with brown paint.  Given that I have fair skin it just exemplified the awkward look.


I’m sure this is blatantly obvious to those who wear makeup regularly, but I will elaborate for those who are less informed on the nuances of wearing makeup.  Find a foundation and concealer that comes close to matching your skin tone. When it comes to covering a tattoo… the foundation and concealer needs to be dark enough to cover the tattoo while matching your skin tone.  Too light of a foundation and concealer the tattoo will still show, too dark and you will have an awkward look.


After two laser removal sessions I decided to give it another try.  My tattoos had significantly faded, and I was hopeful that a lighter foundation and concealer would do the trick.  It did! All you need to do is cover the tattoo and the surrounding area with a foundation appropriate for your skin tone.  Adding a skin tone appropriate concealer should hide the tattoo to the point where it is no longer visible. I then blend the foundation and concealer with a blender brush and powder.


This may not be for everyone, but it does work.  Besides temporarily covering my tattoo, it gave me the confidence to know in the near future what it will look like to have my unwanted tattoos gone.

652 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page